skip to primary navigationskip to content

Collegiate Cambridge

Collegiate Cambridge

The University is a confederation of Schools, Faculties, Departments, and Colleges. The Colleges are governed by their own statutes and regulations, but are integral to the make-up of the University of Cambridge.

The Colleges

Students live, eat, and socialise in one of the University’s 31 autonomous Colleges. Undergraduates receive College supervisions – small group teaching sessions – regarded as one of the best teaching models in the world.

Each College has its own internal procedures. They select their own students, subject to University regulations, and most admit both undergraduate and postgraduate students. 

Directors of Studies

The interface between the College and the Faculty is the Director of Studies (DoS), and all of the Colleges that admit undergraduates have a DoS in Theology & Religious Studies. The links to the left will show you the DoS and also staff and affiliated lecturers and graduate students with a college affiliation.